The Brett Kimberlin Saga:

Follow this link to my BLOCKBUSTER STORY of how Brett Kimberlin, a convicted terrorist and perjurer, attempted to frame me for a crime, and then got me arrested for blogging when I exposed that misconduct to the world. That sounds like an incredible claim, but I provide primary documents and video evidence proving that he did this. And if you are moved by this story to provide a little help to myself and other victims of Mr. Kimberlin’s intimidation, such as Robert Stacy McCain, you can donate at the PayPal buttons on the right. And I thank everyone who has done so, and will do so.

Friday, December 23, 2011

Friday Frivolity: The "Linked Timelines" Edition!

So I have always liked the Legend of Zelda games, but I always thought the series never made sense as a series.  They kept pretending that, hey, this is a guy who never had an adventure before, who then suddenly goes on an adventure and saves the world, or something.  So if there was any continuity, it totally escaped me.

(So off I am to save the world again, for the first time...)

But apparently in Japan, they have released a Legend of Zelda encyclopedia and art book, and if IGN is to be believed (and even they are not sure...), there is a method to all the madness:

Keep in mind this is based on reports from Japan that have then been translated. We have not seen direct scans or pictures of this information in the book (so far). There is some room for error. 

With that in mind... 

The Zelda series starts with a simple progression. The first four games in the timeline, from earliest to latest are: 

3. The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords 

Here's where things get complicated, because Ocarina deals with a leap in time and technically only spells out one of those timelines with its ending. However, if these reports are to be believed, Nintendo has generated three scenarios based on Ocarina of Time. 

The first, which we'll call Timeline A, assumes Link actually fails to stop Ganon. How or why this is a logical storyline path is a bit lost on us, because the game resolves that battle, but regardless, here are the games that follow Timeline A: 

6-A. The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons/Oracle of Ages 

So there's that - many games based on an odd presumption. Regardless, the next path, Timeline B, works from the presented ending of Ocarina of Time, featuring Link returning to live through his childhood. As we all know, Majora's Mask picks up shortly after Ocarina's ending, leading to these games: 

6-B. The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess 

One more timeline for you. This one starts with Ganon's defeat in the Ocarina of Time era, and progresses from there - from the time that Link advanced and eventually left so he could be a child once again. Here are the games in Timeline C: 

So there you go.

Indeed.  Honestly, if this is the official word on the subject, it sounds like ex post facto bull,   But it’s an interesting attempt to make a senseless series make sense.

And it doesn’t stop the games from being great games.


Follow me at Twitter @aaronworthing, mostly for snark and site updates.

No comments:

Post a Comment